I choose life

It’s not usually my style to sit down and write during a work week; in the heat of the grind…, most especially on a Monday… But I was drawn here by the sad news I just received of the untimely death of two colleagues who were involved in an automobile accident, with a third still lying critically injured in hospital. I pray she lives to tell the story.

We usually don’t feel the sting of death unless it happens to someone close, or to someone we knew in person. As I write, I feel a heaviness in my heart, such grief that two young men were cut down in their prime… One of them just got back from his honeymoon and I’m just wondering: What is life really? What am I really here for? Could I be the one that would be the reason for weeping one day? That’s not for me! I choose to live! But is my affirmation alone an assurance of my staying alive?

I was going to call my late colleague to apologise for not attending his wedding and not even sending a word… But I guess I’m too late! He’s gone. Everything he was doing on earth is over! What of his poor wife? Can she even claim she was married? What of the stigma that goes with such events which in some quarters could be seen as a bad omen? I leave these questions to your imagination for answers.

What really are the lessons I’ve gathered from this sad event, like many others that have occurred in the past?

Life is short

Life isn’t always fair

Life doesn’t always give answers to most questions

Life should be lived everyday bearing in mind it could be our last.

Life is a mixture of pain and happiness…; served most times in undesired proportions.

Life will go on when we die.

Life is all about the choices we make everyday…

I’ll leave you with a quote from Virgil (Publius Vergilius Maro). I believe it drives home my message:

“Set forth the wine and the dice, and perish who thinks of tomorrow! Here’s Death twitching my ear, “Live,” says he, “for I’m coming!”

About Ifemezue Uma

Ifemezue Uma is a Civil Engineer by training, a financial analyst by practice and currently a government employee practicing as an engineer. Ifemezue has a burning desire to project a more positive image of Africa through his writing, as well as reflecting on random thoughts and any topic of interest. You can find him on Twitter @ifeuma and LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ifemezueuma/
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I choose life

  1. Kaynijo says:

    My condolences to you. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss.

    It was two weeks ago that I was sitting down with a dear friend of mine and the topic of our discussion was death. We made some of the very same points as you did.

    Life is short – you never know when it’ll be your time, so let us stop wasting precious time fighting and arguing over foolishness. Let us stop putting off for tomorrow what we can do today.

Leave a Reply

